High School Basketball Sign Fail

Thanks to Burrill for:

12 Responses to “High School Basketball Sign Fail”


  1. 2 sjb May 3, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Damn, I was trying to post a picture. I fail.

  2. 3 alex May 3, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Explanation:
    The team we were playing had very short players, so to make fun of them we were sticking with the movie theme. One of thier kids was named Elliot, so if you look you can sort of see the other side of the sign that read “Elliott!!!” with a picture of E.T. (the famous line form that movie). For this side, we planned on making another sign with pictures of Whos (the Dr.Suess characters) wearing the opponent’s jerseys. We were planning on coupling that sign with this one, suggesting that thier court was the “Who’s House”. The other sign never got created, but I was showing our crowd the “Elliot!!!” sign (which was such a success, his parents asked to keep it after the game b/c they thought it was funny). My apologies, I know how it looks, but I have more respect for the English language than that.

  3. 4 Burrill May 3, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Here’s the other side of the sign. It was pretty hilarious.

    Alex, it’s probably better the other sign didn’t get made; I’m not sure that one would have been as funny. The E.T. gag was compact and easy to catch in a glance, which is why it worked.

    But I do have to say that I love what you guys do for basketball games. It’s always a highlight for me to see what you guys are going to come up with next.

  4. 5 alex May 3, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Yes, I agree the other sign was not as good. That is why when I was pressed for time I decided not to make it. I’m glad you like them though, what really got me was the when I saw Elliot’s parents holding it after the game. Keep up the good photos and I’ll do my best on the signs.

  5. 6 Mike May 6, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    i do not care what anyone else has said here…

    the girl on the left is a total hottie…i dont even care what the poster said its the only cool thing about this picture and noone even mentioned it.

  6. 8 Kara May 21, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Hugh Laurie. Next question?

  7. 9 lemongirl June 25, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Guy on right in blackface?? Anachronistic racism fail.

  8. 10 Burrill June 27, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    IIRC, the name of the student section has a bit of a military theme (Alex? Do I remember correctly?), so the paint on his face would have been intended as camouflage. Ultrasensitive fail.

  9. 11 Teirusu December 3, 2008 at 10:15 am

    maybe he’s asking who House is?

  10. 12 whst February 9, 2009 at 3:52 am

    shit to all fuck you who read this


Leave a Reply

