Verbatim Fail

WE’VE MOVED! CLICK HERE TO GO TO OUR NEW BLOG!

Thanks to Karen for:

37 Responses to “Verbatim Fail”


  1. 1 Sean May 4, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Ha! I love it!

  2. 2 Volpeculus May 4, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    That is just made of epic fail. Thank you, sir.

  3. 3 Jen May 4, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    Uh, no, that was clearly intentional. Epic fail to you, good friend, for being a no-fun grammar fiend who cannot even appreciate irony.

    If you were pointing out the “Birthday’s,” though, I could forgive you.

  4. 4 Tom May 4, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    BAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Someone was really tired and not paying attention…

  5. 5 Volpeculus May 4, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    @Jen:
    So the baker wrote a paragraph of nonsense for the sake of postmodern irony? Have you missed the point of this entire blog? Epic fail to you, my good lady, for being so utterly dense and pretentious.

  6. 6 Alex May 4, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    SOOOO HILARIOUS!!
    that is one epically failing icer.
    poo on you guys who dont think this is a fail.

  7. 7 Octane May 5, 2008 at 5:53 am

    I love ALL of it!

  8. 8 Jen May 5, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Oh man. Depressing that someone did all this work without thinking AT ALL about what he/she was doing!

  9. 9 Anonymous May 6, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    wow best one i’ve seen so far…

  10. 10 lastletterwriter May 7, 2008 at 1:15 am

    hahahah!! best cake ever.

  11. 11 Warner May 8, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    A nice added touch is “Birthday’s”

  12. 12 tayy May 11, 2008 at 7:21 am

    i must agree, this one is the best that i’ve seen 😀

  13. 13 Anonymous May 14, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Something like this actually happened to a friend of mine.
    She got a cake for someone and said they wanted it to say “Get Well [person’s name]”

    Well they only put “Well [person’s name]”
    *facepalm*

    So a tip, don’t buy cakes from Wal-mart lol.

  14. 14 Dan May 15, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    See, this is either an epic fail or an intentional joke by the baker. Either way it’s hilarious.

  15. 15 Anonymous May 16, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    I love how “Nov. and Dec.” is abbreviated in the abbreviation instructions.😀

  16. 16 M May 16, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    I guess they didn’t need to abbreviate, after all.

  17. 17 Caitlin May 19, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    This is by far the best one. You’d have to be so out of it to make this mistake! I would love to someday receive a birthday cake similar to this one.

  18. 18 Vander Kitten May 19, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Oh lovely. I love it. Totally made my Monday.

  19. 19 Ms. Rosenbaum May 21, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    My favorite part of all of this is that it has been photographed on a birthday themed tablecloth – THEY USED IT!

    Party planning fail.

  20. 20 emily June 1, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Yeah, this reminds me of a cake we had made for our volleyball team end-of-year party.
    We wanted it to say ‘ace’ on it, which is a totally legit volleyball term, but the icer put ‘face’ on our cake.

    It was fabulous. I would not oppose to eating a cake mistake, haha. It makes it so much more delicious.

  21. 21 Anna June 1, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    One year my boyfriend went to DQ to get me a birthday cake.. he wanted it to say “Happy Birthday Anna” in red.

    They wrote “Happy Birthday Red” and then “fixed” it by covering the mistake with chocolate.

    …fail.

  22. 22 Karen June 2, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    So this was my addition, and yes we did use the cake and everyone loved it. It was the funniest thing EVER!

  23. 23 roflcopter June 3, 2008 at 11:13 am

    lawlawlawlawlawlawlawlawlawlawlwal cake

    lawlawlawlawlawlawlawlawlawlawl

  24. 24 Jon June 3, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    If your job is decorating cakes at Wal-Mart, chances are pretty high that you don’t know much English. The person probably just copied down the form without having any understanding of what it really said.

  25. 25 Keelhaul June 11, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Hey meester….I gots jor cakes ready for to be peeked up now…jes???

  26. 26 daddy00 June 13, 2008 at 11:10 am

    We get cakes at least once a month at my office for some random reason, and English is not the native language of the ladies at the Publix bakery. We constantly have to tell them how to spell things like “Kate” and “Bobby”, but have never had something so ridiculous as this. I am jealous of how epic this failure is. I wish I had been the person to have brought it back to my office. I know some of the people here wouldn’t get it anyway.

  27. 27 Sçium June 15, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Is there any deeper meaning for this than gibberish? Am I missing something?

  28. 28 Vickie June 16, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    Hahahahaha! I needed a laugh. Thank you so much! I think the people who got the cake would have loved it, too.

  29. 29 Jevanyn June 24, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    From Tom:
    “BAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Someone was really tired and not paying attention…”

    … but they were even more tired by the time they were done. Did they spell abbreviate right on the first try? ROFL

  30. 30 pannonica July 1, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    That’s certainly the icing on the cake.

    Obviously, the decorator knew exactly what he or she was doing and was pointing out the customer’s shortcomings; the apostrophe must have been in the original too. After all,”The customer is always right.”

    My only question is, did the icer get iced?

  31. 31 failshirts July 7, 2008 at 7:14 am

    That is cake-tastic!
    .
    Funny shirts that smell like your mom… http://www.FAILshirts.com
    .

  32. 32 Broaxiavart March 5, 2010 at 4:30 am

    The action taken to national disaster is noble but it’s a real shame that so many citizens take advantage of the sad situations.

    I mean everytime there is an earthquake, a flood, an oil spill – there’s always a group of heartless people who rip off tax payers.

    This is in response to reading that 4 of Oprah Winfreys “angels” got busted ripping off the system. Shame on them!
    http://www.cbsnews.com/blogs/2009/08/19/crimesider/entry5251471.shtml

  33. 33 Anonymous March 30, 2011 at 5:50 am

    Your articles – confused in my life the way that you lit one of our brightest lights; your article – in my thorny way of life that you shown us the way forward. You are like a red candle, though small and weak, but you have a sub-thermal, send a splitting, we finally lit up, burning his own. You can go to my site exchange with:youth nfl jerseys

  34. 34 Anonymous March 30, 2011 at 8:44 am

    You are coals of severe winter, the summer heat is in the shade, is sprinkled turbulence in the sea fog stepping-stones wonder of the world.If I can fly in the sky, it is you give me a pair of wings; If I can sail in the sea, is that you gave me frolic in force; If I am not quenched torch, is that you gave me the youth light!,plz visit my websites:youth nfl jerseys

  35. 35 news June 4, 2012 at 5:23 am

    As soon as I initially commented I clicked on the Notify me any time new comments are added checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the same comment.

  36. 36 fear of flying in airplanes February 5, 2013 at 11:43 am

    you are really a excellent webmaster. The website loading pace is amazing.

    It seems that you’re doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a great
    process in this topic!


  1. 1 easter stories for church bulletins Trackback on June 18, 2015 at 11:12 am

Leave a Reply

