English Fail Poll

First off, I just have to thank you all for coming to and enjoying this blog. It’s just so cool!!πŸ˜€

Anyways, just to get some feedback here, what do you all think of this blog? Do you like it, hate it, enjoy it, etc?? Do you have any suggestions, comments, etc?? How often do you visit this blog? Just basically tell me what you think of it, that’s about it. It doesn’t have to be some fancy spiel or anything.

Once again, thanks so much!!

37 Responses to “English Fail Poll”


  1. 1 lawl June 6, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    English Fail is awesome.

  2. 2 Mary June 6, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    I love English Fail and I’m here at least once a day. I think there should be some guidelines posted somewhere regarding submissions, like whether or not to write “FAIL” on the photos before sending.

  3. 3 Alia June 6, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    I think this is a great website! I have the RSS feed on my journal, so I “visit” the site as often as its updated. It definitely amuses me.

  4. 4 Heather June 6, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    It is one of my favorites! My coworkers also love it. Good work. -h.

  5. 5 Tal June 6, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    I visit about once a day… I like this place.

    More would be very much appreciated.

  6. 6 Voyagerfan5761 June 6, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    I am such a spelling and grammar stickler it’s not even funny. I love this site! It’s earned a spot in my Google Reader subscription list.

    I agree with Mary that we should have some guidelines for submissions.

  7. 7 Jon June 6, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Great blog! I visit almost every day and it hardly fails to amuse me.

    Keep up the good work English Fail!

  8. 8 Jenn S. (a.k.a. Ducky) June 6, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    This is fantastic. I’ve recently subscribed via RSS. I’m an editor and a perfectionist (…wait, that’s redundant), so I love a good laugh/wince at incorrect signage. Which reminds me, I have a picture I need to go dig up…

    P.S. As one commenter said–do you prefer photos with “Fail” already emblazoned on them?

  9. 9 Sarah June 6, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    I love this blog–thank you so much for creating and running it!

    However, I do think the content submitted to the site should be more filtered. They should actually be “English fails”–errors in grammar, spelling, etc. Some of the submissions, while they may be quite amusing, really aren’t “English fails”–rather, they’re just kind of funny. I don’t know, maybe it’s just me. Anyway, that’s just my two cents.

  10. 10 Anna June 6, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    I agree with Sarah and the previous commenters on guidelines about submission. Some things aren’t actually English fails but just funny, and sometimes the caption “FAIL” that someone has put on the picture is rather non sequitur.
    I tend to visit the blog about once a day…

  11. 11 English Fail June 6, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Wow, I’m very happy that you all are enjoying the blog!!πŸ˜€ This rocks!

    Ok, regarding the question about whether or not to include “FAIL” on the pictures you submit. I’ve gotten both ways. Some people prefer to put the “FAIL” on themselves and others prefer to just send in a picture without the “FAIL” on it. More people do the latter, however.

    So I guess it really doesn’t matter which way you do, just make sure that if you put the “FAIL” on yourself, make sure that it’s clear and sharp. Sometimes it’s nice just to send in the blank picture, though, because then I can put the “FAIL” on it and make sure that it fits nicely and looks good and won’t get cut off if the picture is too big, etc. Either way will work, though.

    Thanks!

  12. 12 Heidi June 6, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    I love this site! I try to visit every day. Morons make me all gleeful inside.

  13. 13 David June 6, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    This is probably the best site I’ve ever visited. Awesome.

  14. 14 David June 6, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    I do have one slight problem, though. Could you make it so that any curse words printed in the comments would be replaced with asterisks (*)? I know I’m being a total wuss for suggesting this, but it would make my experience here that much more enjoyable.

  15. 15 Kara June 6, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    I agree with many of the above. Love it, but if there’s any extra time — and I’d be willing to believe there’s not — a bit of content streamlining would make it even better. I wouldn’t mind a decrease in posts if it meant they were all quality goods. ^_^

    David ~ Filtering profanity on WordPress involves (last I checked) installing a plugin, and the most reliable one requires that you purchase an activation key. I’m not sure what kind of money our blogger has and/or if s/he’s willing to spend it to make one person happy, but you never know. *shrug*

  16. 16 Sargoth June 6, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    Me like this site, though you *could* go easier with the “your/you’re” fails. They get, well, old, after two, three, thirteen times..πŸ˜‰

  17. 17 ack June 7, 2008 at 1:47 am

    pretty goos stuff. fun times.

  18. 18 Voyagerfan5761 June 7, 2008 at 2:29 am

    @David (and, sort of, @Kara): A quick search around Userscripts.org garnered what looks to be a great little gem that should do exactly what you want on any site on the Internet. It’s the Clean Language II script. If you don’t have Firefox with Greasemonkey, well… sorry to bug you, then.πŸ™‚

    @Sargoth: But its such an obvious mistake! (Note intentionally missing apostrophe.πŸ˜€ )

    @ack: I can’t resist: goos FAIL. Don’t take it personally.πŸ™‚

  19. 19 Kara June 7, 2008 at 6:53 am

    @Voyagerfan5761 – Ah, a user-end one. Much better idea, and a serious time-saver for the resident blogger.

  20. 20 Sorcia McNasty June 7, 2008 at 7:39 am

    As an English teacher, I love this blog and give my kids extra credit if they bring in their own English Fail pics.
    Keep up the good work!!

  21. 21 Jennifer June 7, 2008 at 8:07 am

    Yes, English Fail is so funny! Keep it up! πŸ™‚

  22. 22 thisbeautifulmess June 7, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    I visit at least once a day, and always get a good laugh… thanks!

  23. 23 hans June 7, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    This is awesome, but stuff that’s printed out and on a piece of paper,like “wrong utensil” or “this makes soo much sense” looks fake to me…. cuz you can just print out a piece of paper that has horrible grammar, then “post it” somewhere public, take a picture of it, then take it off…

  24. 24 deMute June 7, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    Excellent site! I get the RSS feed and my day wouldn’t be complete without reading the update }:) Keep it up!

    I agree that we need submission guidelines though.

  25. 25 Josh June 7, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    I love it! It’s one of my favorite sites to visit daily.
    Definitely great work!

  26. 26 Lee June 8, 2008 at 6:22 am

    this blog is awesome seeing all of the wrong’s that people put onto signs’ never ceases to give me giggle’sπŸ˜„

    awesome site, some hilarious mistakes, keep up the good work =D

  27. 27 Elz June 8, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Yeah, I visit this site 3-4 times a day. LOVE IT.

    Also agree that we need submission guidelines.

  28. 28 KJ June 8, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    I visit every couple of days when I need an excuse to slack off from workπŸ™‚

  29. 29 Katie June 8, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    I love this blog so much! It brightens my day!!

    However, I would suggest that you don’t post lolcat images– those are supposed to be misspelled with poor grammar, so I wouldn’t consider it a fail.

    Other than that, kudos on an excellent blog!!

  30. 30 xtknight June 9, 2008 at 8:07 am

    I love this site. I visit probably around 5 times a week. πŸ˜› I also visit Engrish and Jay Leno Headlines/lolcat sites a lot.

  31. 31 Thad Moore June 9, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    I follow the RSS and read every post.

  32. 32 MaryDee June 9, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Love it. Love it. Love it.
    I check every morning just to get my day started right!

  33. 33 Ben June 10, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Love the site, the only suggestion I have is to cut out some of the simple grammar errors (e.g. a misplaced apostrophe) that really aren’t all that funny, especially when seen over and over. I find the ones with wildly incorrect grammar or unintended double meanings (or both!) much more amusing.

  34. 34 Gabs June 11, 2008 at 7:00 am

    I LOVE EF. The first time I found it, it just made my day. I now check in every couple days and almost always end up in tears laughing at it. Great idea.

  35. 35 Keelhaul June 11, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Just found it…..so far, so good.

  36. 37 Jessica June 17, 2008 at 10:23 am

    LOVE IT. I’ve submitted a few pictures. Keep it up.


Leave a Reply

