English Fail Poll #2

Based on the enormous response that I got out of my first poll, I decided I would have another poll. I love reading your comments about how to improve this blog. It’s fun.

Ok so here’s the deal, notice on the last couple of posts how I’ve included a little paragraph before the picture saying what the submitter wrote in the email to me about the picture. It’s like a little backstory kind of thing explaining where they found the photo, what the error is, and why it’s funny, etc. Anyway, the question is, do you like reading them or should I not include them in future posts and just go back to posting just the picture without the backstory? Or should I post them every now and then or whatever? Obviously some people just send in the picture without writing anything about it, so not all posts will have this.

So if you have any thoughts, comments, or suggestions about this topic they would be greatly appreciated. Just start typing away!!

As always, thanks!😀

27 Responses to “English Fail Poll #2”


  1. 1 DarcsFalcon June 9, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    I like the backstory. That’s my vote.

  2. 3 Kabuto June 9, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Keep it. It’s helpful if the mistake isn’t entirely obvious.

  3. 4 deMute June 9, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    I vote keep them but put them after the picture. I like the idea of figuring it out for myself first and then reading the submitter and reader’s comments.

  4. 5 R June 9, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    I like it, but maybe hide it behind a link or something. Like,

    -picture-
    (click here for the story)

  5. 6 Loth June 9, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Keep them in – they’re great.

  6. 7 Jack June 9, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Love love LOVE the blurbs in there.

  7. 8 Gary June 9, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Keep them, clarity is one of the cornerstones of proper English!

  8. 9 MaryDee June 9, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    I vote no on the blurbs. It’s like having someone explain a joke to you.

  9. 10 Alia June 9, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    I vote yes, but maybe put them after the picture, or behind a link or something, so that those who don’t like them don’t have to see them.

  10. 11 Sarah June 9, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    I agree–keep them, but put them behind a link of sorts. I don’t know, I guess I feel like then it’s more optional whether or not you have to read it. (Yeah, I know it’s optional anyway, but…I can’t quite explain it, but yeah.)

  11. 12 Steph June 9, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Clearly, “R” has the best solution. If you have a link for each story, those who want to read it can. And those who don’t want to read it don’t have to. This would also keep the page more streamline, without all the text between pics.

  12. 13 Tal June 9, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    I say keep it, not all the fails here are completely obvious at first glance, especially if they require a context the reader may not know.

    Keep!

  13. 14 Cat June 9, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Here’s another vote for the stories being kept, but put behind a link or “cut.” While obviously reading them is optional no matter where they’re put, replacing the longer paragraphs with short links might make the site look more streamlined and less cluttered while still providing the interesting stories.

  14. 15 Maria June 9, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    I agree that you should keep the backstory, but put it at the end. This blog totally rules!!

  15. 16 Scaramouche June 9, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Keep them, but behind a link. I agree with pretty much everyone else.

  16. 17 Burrill June 9, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    Yeah, I think the best option would be to put them after a “More…” link. I know that’s easy in WordPress.

  17. 19 Voyagerfan5761 June 10, 2008 at 2:10 am

    Veto the link idea, keep the backstories. Put them after the picture, but don’t use a link. I only want to use one page, thx.🙂 Perhaps only include them if they’re really funny or something? That could be a way to keep the number of them down.

  18. 20 Josh June 10, 2008 at 5:33 am

    I would be for the backstories. As it’s being said directly above me, monitor them (if possible). If they don’t add to the picture or the humor, there’s no real need for it.
    I could see the pros and cons of having it be a link. You have to go into the individual post page to comment, so it isn’t like you’d be adding a new process (for those people who comment, at least). But for casual readers, having to go to a whole other page for one paragraph can be annoying.
    I would say: keep the backstories, and if they were available through a *more* link, perhaps it’ll encourage more people to comment.

  19. 21 English Fail June 10, 2008 at 6:14 am

    Thanks for all the input everyone!

    Based on this it seems that a majority of you enjoy the backstories. A lot of you presented some cool options that I found were clever. Here’s what I got out of this poll.

    A. Keep the backstories.
    B. Move the backstories after the picture.
    C. Put the backstories in a link.
    D. Remove the backstories all together.
    E. Post them every now and then, or whenever they’re funny, etc.

    A couple of you brought up the idea that it clutters the page and I totally agree with that. So what I think I’m going to do is letter E, where I post the backstories every so often, like whenever someone writes a good one, or it helps to bring out the humor in the picture and so on. After all, not everyone even sends in a backstory anyways.

    This is not set in stone or anything, I may choose to do a combination of the above letters, or perhaps something totally different that wasn’t even mentioned, etc. I’ll take all this into consideration.

    Once again, thank you all!!😀

  20. 22 Madrugada Jones June 10, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    A good rule of thumb for humor is if you have to explain the joke, it’s probably not funny. So if you have to write an explanation before a photo, chances are people will get bored. Remember, humor is about the gut punch, it’s about being as concise as possible. The whole reason for your blog is that pictures can often be more concise than words. Why would you counter this by adding extra words?

    For my CARTOONS click on my name link.

  21. 24 unholyghost2003 June 12, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Perhaps it is because I came here from Passive Aggressive Notes, but I like some back story. It isn’t always needed, it isn’t always funny … but I think in some cases it improves the joke. There have been a couple of posts that I didn’t catch right away (the brain is a strange thing, or at least mine is and auto-corrects many errors) and after a little nudge for what I should be looking for I found very funny.

  22. 25 Felise June 13, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    I guess the story’s good, only if it’s 100% necessary. Most of the time we don’t need it.

  23. 26 Sçium June 15, 2008 at 6:32 am

    I agree with deMute, keep them, but instead, put them below the picture. They don’t seem to really flow correctly if it’s at the beginning, anyways.

  24. 27 Liath June 16, 2008 at 7:35 am

    I’d like the backstory after the picture, preferably as the first comment that’s posted.

    A lot of the comments are pretty funny too, and I always read them after the picture. Hey, how about making it a caption contest? You could maybe post the best comment as a caption every so often?

    Seeing Fail all the time is a bit depressing, and a caption would really add to the humor of the site.


Leave a Reply

